Ashington Town Council is planning a new entrance feature that will celebrate the 150th Anniversary of the town and in particular the Proud Past.
The Ashington Mining Wheel Entrance Feature will see, subject to planning approval and permission, the installation of a fully restored mining wheel standing over 4m tall.
The project to be completed in 2017 will also include shrub, bulb and tree planting, up-lighting and an information board detailing the development of the town from the first sinking of the Bothal Mine Shaft in 1867.
Ashington was in the past referred to the largest pit village in the world. This project is designed to both commemorate the rich mining history of the town and also as a memorial to over 300 Ashington miners who gave their lives in ‘winning the black diamonds’.
The identified site is close to the entrance of the former Ashington Colliery on Rotary Parkway, the main route through the town. The site is also close to the Miner’s Chapel located in the Holy Sepulchre Church and the recently developed Ashington Colliery Heritage Trail which records the rich history of coal mining in the town.